Les Brasseurs²

FR - EN


Les Brasseurs - contemporary art is a structure that has been created in Liège (Belgium) in 1993 in order to promote contemporary creation through the organization of individual exhibitions cycles, thematic collective exhibitions, conferences, performances, lectures, concerts and editorial projects.

During twenty years, the project has been curated by Dominique Mathieu. In 2014, the project takes a new turn under the impulsion of its new team.

The team - Sarah Charlier (project manager), Corentin Lahaye (production & communication), Jérôme Mayer (Young Artist platform) - intends to perpetuate the exigent work that has been previously achieved by the structure in its mission of promoting visual arts as well as to extend further and permanently to other art fields such as performance and more broadly living arts. Furthermore, the new team gives a great importance to the development of collaborations (exhibition projects, bilateral programs,..) with other structures in Belgium and abroad.

Another fundamental part of the project is based on the diffusion of emerging and artists and the related educative aspects.

The project is articulated around values that are crucial to us:

Authenticity. Convinced that compromise is the death of art, we engage ourselves to follow a path of honesty and selflessness.

Audacity. Because it is not enough to look at what has been done and to continue a tradition but to question in order to keep on moving forward intellectually, structurally and humanely.

Decompartmentalisation. In terms of genres, niches, shackles and stylistic trends as well as target audiences and venues. We will continue to build relationships with other organizations at home and abroad, more than ever promoting exchanges and collaborations.

Celebration. Resisting to morose, elitist, cynical postures and to the progressive disenchantment of a world held in hostage by the commercial sector, we claim a solar and generous philosophy, guaranteeing a conscious mind, fresh and vibrant, definitely non-conformist.

Research. Convinced that art, far from being confined to entertainment or to a social or merely economical value, must be a liberating path. We are committed to continually seek the chemistry between individuals, the development of fruitful alchemies, conveying illuminating visions, transformations of the self and the world.

Les Brasseurs

FR - EN


Les Brasseurs art contemporain est une structure créée à Liège (Belgique) en 1993 et destinée à la diffusion et à la promotion de la création contemporaine à travers l’organisation de cycles d’expositions individuelles, collectives et thématiques, de conférences, de soirées de lectures de performances, de concerts et de projets éditoriaux.

Pendant vingt ans, la direction artistique des Brasseurs a été assurée par Dominique Mathieu. En 2014, l’association se redéfinit sous l’impulsion de sa nouvelle équipe.

L’équipe - Sarah Charlier (chargé de projet), Corentin Lahaye (production & communication), Jérôme Mayer (antenne Jeune Artiste) - entend à la fois perpétuer le travail exigeant développé par la première structure dans sa mission de diffusion des arts plastiques et étendre plus avant et de manière permanente les champs de ses activités à la performance et aux arts vivants en général. Dans le même ordre d’idées, la nouvelle équipe accorde une grande place au développement de collaborations (projet d’expositions, échanges,..) avec d’autres structures en Belgique et à l’étranger.

Une importante part de la mission du projet est d’autre part axée sur l’accueil et la diffusion des jeunes artistes et sa dimension éducative (animations, ateliers,..).

Le projet s'articule autour de valeurs centrales et pour nous incontournables: 


L'authenticité. Convaincus que le compromis est la mort de l'art, nous nous engageons à suivre un chemin résolument désintéressé et intègre.

L'audace. Parce qu'il ne suffit pas de contempler ce qui a été fait et de perpétuer une tradition mais bien de se remettre en question afin de continuer d'avancer intellectuellement, structurellement et humainement.

Le décloisonnement. Celui des genres, des carcans et des tendances stylistiques autant que des publics cibles et des lieux investis. Nous continuerons donc de tisser des liens avec d'autres structures en Belgique et à l'étranger, favorisant plus que jamais les échanges et les collaborations.

La célébration. Résistant de facto aux postures moroses, élitistes, désabusées et au désenchantement progressif d'un monde pris en otage par le secteur marchand, nous nous revendiquons d'une philosophie solaire et généreuse, garante d'un esprit conscient, frais et dynamique, résolument anti-conformiste.

La recherche. Convaincus que l'art, loin de se cantonner au divertissement ou au faire valoir social se doit d'être un chemin libérateur, nous nous engageons à rechercher sans cesse l'alchimie entre les êtres, l'élaboration d'alliages féconds et porteurs de visions éclairantes, de transformations de soi et du monde.